Yak Pak Weekend of November 21st/22nd

Posted: November 19, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

David the Psalmist

Our hope is for our kids to know that: There is Rest in the Presence of the Lord   

“The Lord is my Shepherd, I shall not want” 
Psalm 23:1

Read:
(Open the bible and read to your child Psalm 23) Psalms are the lyrics of songs that were once sung in Israel to God. King David was the greatest of the psalm writers. From what we know about David’s life, we can sometimes guess how a particular psalm related to his life. For instance, as a young boy, David was himself a shepherd who watched over his father’s flocks. He knew that a shepherd carefully watches over the sheep to protect them. When a shepherd is there, the sheep have no fear of wolves or other enemies. The shepherd also leads the sheep to the best pastures and streams. So, in Psalm 23, when David compares God to a shepherd watching over his life, we can make the connection back to his shepherding days. David’s peace came from God’s shepherd like protection and provision. In all of David’s life, God always provided for him.

The Jesus Connection:
Read Psalm 23:6.
There is only one way any of us could enjoy God’s mercy and live in heaven with him forever. God sent Jesus, his only Son, to die on the cross for our sin. Now all those who trust in Jesus are forgiven and get to live in the house of God (in heaven) forever. Jesus is the way God kept the promises David sang about. If we trust in Jesus we can live forever in heaven. One day, everyone who goes to heaven will meet David, the man who wrote Psalm 23. When David sang, “The Lord is my shepherd,” he was exactly right. Hundreds of years later, when Jesus began his ministry, he said, “I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father; and I lay down my life for the sheep” (John 10:14–15).

Leave a Reply

